Hieronymus Bosch: Meeting “the Inventor of Monsters and Chimeras”

Detail, Death and the Miser, at the National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC

Detail, Death and the Miser, at the National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC

There are places, artists, and musicians you always remember encountering for the first time. Hieronymus Bosch, who died 496 years ago today, definitely makes this list for me: I remember my surprise and wonder when I first saw fragments of Hell from The Garden of Earthly Delights in an old book at my school’s library (thanks to that book, I devoured Dante’s Inferno at a decidedly too-early of an age), and I remember my excitement at seeing a Bosch panel live for the first time at the National Gallery of Art in Washington (finally! I could choose what details to focus on to my heart’s content). With only 25 confirmed works remaining by Bosch in the world, exploring them in person is a treat. Below are two I “met” so far (surreptitiously and imperfectly captured). I hope to see more of “the inventor of monsters and chimeras” soon.

My favorite detail of Bosch’s Temptation of St. Anthony, at an exhibit in the São Paulo Museum of Art (http://masp.art.br/)

2 thoughts on “Hieronymus Bosch: Meeting “the Inventor of Monsters and Chimeras”

  1. Pingback: My 5 Favorites in São Paulo, Brazil « Transplanted Tatar

  2. Pingback: Good Morning, São Paulo: Daybreak Gregorian Chants at the São Bento Monastery « Transplanted Tatar

Leave a Reply

