Introducing Corina’s Kili Challenge

My dear friend, Corina, is doing a wonderful thing this summer: She will climb Mt. Kilimanjaro and raise funds for a worthy charity, the Amani Children’s Home, a safe haven for street children in Tanzania. She is setting up a website that will describe her preparations, the trek itself, and her visit to the home at the end of it all. On this blog, I will follow her in spirit, reposting her thoughts, her news, and her adventures. I hope you will follow her with me–and consider supporting her cause.

But, you should read it from Corina directly: 

CorinaMy name is Corina, and I am a PhD student at the London School of Economics (LSE).

In August 2013, I plan to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro, which at 5,895 meters (19,341 feet) is the highest free-standing mountain in the world.  I have never done anything like this, so it will be exceptionally challenging  – but I plan on getting up there, come hell or high water.

My trek up Kili is entirely self-funded.  And I am selling each and every one of the 5895 meters I will climb to fundraise for the Amani Children’s Home. This is an institution that provides primary care, counseling, and outreach options to street children in Moshi, at the base of Kilimanjaro.  It rescues them from malnutrition, homelessness, and abuse.

It’s simple: 1m = £1 (US$1.50)

Please trust me when I say that every little bit helps. And your support, in any shape or form, would be much appreciated.  So please donate, share this on Facebook and with your friends, or on Twitter – help me get the word out and sell all 5,895 metres of my trek up Mt. Kilimanjaro.

If you wish to sponsor my Kili trek, please go to http://www.justgiving.com/Corina-Mavrodin

About the Amani Children’s Home: 

11 thoughts on “Introducing Corina’s Kili Challenge

  1. How fantastic!!! I have always wanted to climb Kili but it just never seems to work out. I love how your friend is donating it all to charity! What a wonderful idea! I have a friend who is running a half Marathon there in March and donating to 13 different charities for each mile. So inspiring to see people doing things like this for good! Can’t wait to follow her along. 🙂

  2. THANK YOU, everyone, for all your encouragement and support. I must admit that, having just begun this rather ambitious project, I do feel quite intimidated by it. So thank you for your kind words, for getting the word out and helping out. It really means a lot. And I promise to keep you updated on my preparations and training for the next 6 months 🙂 Yeyks!

  3. Nicole, thank you so much for the offer to repost Corina’s messages. I will let Corina chime in, but I think it would be wonderful–and helpful in spreading the word as her climb date draws closer. I appreciate the support.

  4. Pingback: Corina’s Adventure Begins! | Transplanted Tatar

Leave a Reply

