My Garden, in Spring Color

And just like that, at long last, my gardening season begins in earnest. I love the newness of it all: Everything is crisp, fresh, and, for the moment, somewhat in order. Each day, I begin with my spring color survey. Here’s this week’s palette.

My greens: 

A frond of maidenhair fern in spring

A frond of maidenhair fern, unfurling

Buds on prickly pear in spring

A prickly pear, sprouting

Paw paw blooms are green in spring

Paw paw blooms, green at first

Maroons:

Maroon paw paw blooms

As blossoms open, paw paw lights up in deep, velvety maroon

Apple buds in April

Apple buds, getting ready

Maroon tulip preparing to bloom

A tulip, survivor of the squirrels’ war on bulbs

Purples and blues:

Lilac blooms in spring

A fragrant puff of lilacs

Wisteria bud

A long, soft wisteria bud

Wisteria bloom up close

Wisteria, in bloom

A blaze of yellows: 

Yellow mahonia blooming in April

Mahonia blooms

All of it framed with white: 

White azalea blossom fully open

First azalea blooms

Blueberry blooms

Porcelain bells of blueberry blossoms

Phlox divaricata, Swan Lake

A new native addition to my spring garden: Woodland phlox or Wild Sweet William (Phlox divaricata)

Next week, the trillium will bloom.

Trillium bud

One of my treasured trilliums, still being shy

8 thoughts on “My Garden, in Spring Color

Leave a Reply

